PeopleAbout OlivetMyOlivetParentsOC AthleticsBlog
Apply

Admissions & Aid Undergraduate Graduate Campus Life Athletics Alumni About Olivet My Olivet Parents

DEPARTMENT OF

Natural and Physical Sciences

Natural and Physical Sciences at Olivet College


Natural and Physical Sciences at Olivet College

You love science and are interested in a career in the discipline, but which path is right for you? On the very first day you step on campus, our faculty will help you explore your options – from medicine to the environment, and dentistry to teaching. Our professors are passionate about the work they do. They’ll strive to challenge you, and more importantly, they’ll help you do whatever it takes to be successful.

As a student at Olivet College, you can explore your field of study through independent research opportunities. This allows you to gain hands-on lab experience, work with our outstanding faculty and present – even publish – work before you graduate.

Our science majors take courses ranging from chemistry, biology to physics, but you’ll also learn strong writing and critical thinking skills. Combined, our program sets you up for career success and the development of strong life skills.


Questions?

Reach out to our admissions team at 1-800-456-7189 or admissions@olivetcollege.edu.


Meet our Natural and Physical Sciences Students

Megahn Piper

Meet Megahn Piper

There are certain qualities that define a Cutler Fellow: intelligence, drive, discipline and curiosity, to name a few. 

For 2014 Cutler Fellow, Megahn Piper, one could add altruism to the list.

Sure, she could have selected a project that would enhance critical skills crucial for her future success; in fact, she contemplated just that. But when it came down to the ninth hour, she simply wanted to leave her legacy at Olivet College. Click here to read Megahn's story
 


Jeff Holm

Meet Jeff Holm

Jeff Holm, a 2014 graduate who majored in biology with a pre-med concentration and biochemistry minor, had a life-changing decision to make this spring.

Would he attend pharmacy school at the University of Michigan or Ferris State University?

That’s right: he was accepted into both programs. “I can’t explain the excitement I felt,” said Holm.

Read more about Jeff's story.

 

 


Meet Stephanie LambStephanie Lamb

Last summer, Stephanie Lamb completed an internship with the Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory in Colorado. This fall, she plans to conduct a habitat assessment of the Lansing Ricer Walk as part of her prestigious Cutler Fellowship. 

To learn more about Stephanie and her future ambitions, click here

 

 

 

 

 

Faculty

John Wilterding, Ph.D.
269.749.7634
jwilterding@olivetcollege.edu

Professor of Biology

Maria Davis, Ph.D.
269.749.7643
mdavis@olivetcollege.edu

Provost and Dean of the College; Professor of Biology

Patrick Fields, Ph.D.
269.749.7761
pfields@olivetcollege.edu

Associate Professor of Biology

Leah Knapp, D.V.M.
269.749.7106
lknapp@olivetcollege.edu

Director, Biology Program; Professor of Biology

Susanne Lewis, Ph.D.
269.749.7629
smlewis@olivetcollege.edu

Chair, Natural and Physical Sciences Department; Director, Chemistry Program; Associate Professor of Chemistry

Marco Wiedenhoeft, Ph.D.
269.749.7140
mwiedenhoeft@olivetcollege.edu

Assistant Professor of Physics and Mathematics

Marcus Wasilevich, Ph.D.
269.749.7656
mwasilevich@olivetcollege.edu

Assistant Professor of Biology

Blake Reed, Ph.D.
269.749.6607
brreed@olivetcollege.edu

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Holly Schaeffer, Ph.D.
269.749.6680
hschaeffer@olivetcollege.edu

Assistant Professor of Biology

We're here to help!

Want to learn more about Olivet College? Have a question? We'll get back to you as soon as we can.

Ask Now