PeopleAbout OlivetMyOlivetParentsOC AthleticsBlog
Apply

Admissions & Aid Undergraduate Graduate Campus Life Athletics Alumni About Olivet My Olivet Parents

DEPARTMENT OF

Arts & Humanities

Arts and Humanities refers to a broad range of subjects that include—but are not limited to—English, literature, journalism and mass communication, music, philosophy, writing, visual arts, graphic design, ethics, world languages and religion. Students who select a major in the arts and humanities, therefore, study the achievements of the human spirit and mind. They work within a variety of disciplines in order to acquire a deeper understanding of themselves, civilization and the world.

Questions?

Reach out to our admissions team at 1-800-456-7189 or admissions@olivetcollege.edu.


Music Program

 

Students who pursue a music major at Olivet College have the opportunity to study in an intimate environment with constant access to faculty, both in- and outside the classroom. As a member of this program, you will have opportunities to perform at all levels and to participate in a wide variety of ensembles, both instrumental and choral.

Our Music Program boasts 100 percent employment and graduate school acceptance rates for our majors. Our graduates work as music professionals in Arizona, Connecticut, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Mexico and South Carolina. They have also pursued graduate work across the world, including the London School of Drama and Speech, Michigan State University and Bowling Green State University, for example. Olivet music graduates have also been accepted at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, and the Longy School of Music at Bard College.

 If you would like to major in music, you must schedule an audition for the music faculty.

 

Download 2017-18 Music Program Auditions Flier

 

Schedule Audition

 

Music Program Faculty


Join the Honor Band

Have you been invited to join the Olivet College Honor Band this November?  Congratulations! We hope you decide to take part, it's an exciting day and a chance for you to play as a college-level musician.

To secure your spot, you'll need to complete and return your application to the address below.  Download the application

 

 

Mail your application to:

Jeremy Duby
​320 S. Main St.
Olivet College
Olivet, MI 49076


Meet our Humanities Students

Meet Halle Burke

Halle Burke, of Warren, won the 2015-16 Global Citizens Honors Program’s (GCHP) full-tuition scholarship through an essay contest and interviews with Olivet College faculty earlier this summer.

An English major, Burke did not expect to win this award. She was overcome with emotions when a phone call full of good news came her way.

Learn more about Halle

Faculty

Laura Barlond-Maas '88
269.749.7678
lbarlond-maas@olivetcollege.edu

Associate Professor of English

Karen Chaney, Ph.D.
269.749.7726
kchaney@olivetcollege.edu

Dean of Faculty; Chair, Liberal Arts Core Curriculum; Assistant Professor of Religious Studies and Ethics

Mike Fales
269.749.7624
mfales@olivetcollege.edu

Director of Service Learning and Campus Ministries; Assistant Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies

Kirk Hendershott-Kraetzer, Ph.D.
269.749.7621
khendershott@olivetcollege.edu

Professor of Humanities

Joanne Williams
269.749.6630
jwilliams@olivetcollege.edu

Associate Professor of Journalism and Mass Communication; Advisor, The Echo; Career Services Director

Dustin Byrd
269.749.7382
dbyrd@olivetcollege.edu

Assistant Professor of Humanities

Timothy S. Flynn , Ph.D.
269.749.7660
tflynn@olivetcollege.edu

Professor of Music

Ramona Kime, Ph.D.
269.749.7692
rkime@olivetcollege.edu

Chair, Arts and Humanities Departments; Professor of Music

Jeremy Duby
269.749.7158
jduby@olivetcollege.edu

Director of Bands

Gary Wertheimer, M.F.A.
269.749.7627
gwertheimer@olivetcollege.edu

Professor of Art

Thia Eller, M.F.A.
269.749.7120
celler@olivetcollege.edu

Assistant Professor of Art

Arthur E. Williams
269-749-7246
awilliams@olivetcollege.edu

Professor of Theater

La'Rae M. Trice
269-749-7693
LTrice@olivetcollege.edu

Gospel Choir Director

Meredith Dodson, M.F.A.
269.749.6613
mdodson@olivetcollege.edu

Director of Writing Program; Assistant Professor of Writing

What should your major be?

Let us help you pick a major that aligns with your interests!

Start Here