WOCR 89.1 The One
homeabout usnew studentsacademicsstudent lifeathleticsalumni




About WOCR 89.1

After 35 years on the air, Olivet College’s radio station, WOCR, made a  major transformation in 2010. WOCR moved from 89.7 on the FM dial to a new frequency – 89.1- and now broadcasts as WOCR, 89-1, The One.

The move to a new frequency allows WOCR to increase its operating power to 500 watts and significantly expand its over-the-air coverage area. The station also purchased a new 500 watt transmitter that replaces some equipment that has been in use since WOCR first went on the air.

WOCR – The One broadcasts live from the Convergent Media Center on the campus of Olivet College in Olivet, Michigan and is an FCC-licensed non-commercial educational radio station operated by students at Olivet. WOCR also streams all of its programming live on the Internet at www.wocrfm.com. No matter where you are, you can listen to WOCR for music, weather, news, information on events taking place on campus, and sports coverage and commentary.

WOCR is on the air Monday through Friday beginning at 7:30 a.m. and produces live coverage of Olivet Comets sports during football and basketball seasons. In the fall of 2010, WOCR also created a new sports program, “Football Friday,” featuring live coverage of a Friday night high school game of the week.

The media player will connect you to the WOCR webcast. Click on the Live365 icon on the player to download the applications for listening on your iPhone, Droid, or other mobile device.  

Listeners can e-mail suggestions and comments to wocr@olivetcollege.edu.


Important Links
WOCR Newsletter
Garfield Lake Review
Echo Student Newspaper

WOCR Basketball

Refresh your screen to view more images


Gary Smith
Assistant Professor of Journalism and Mass Communication;
Advisor for WOCR          
(269) 749-7693

(faculty bio)


Olivet College Commencement scheduled for May 17 (Apr 23, 2014)

Olivet College names Looser vice president for finance and administration (Apr 23, 2014)

Olivet College to recognize state leaders (Apr 21, 2014)

>>> More News