Olivet College RMI students earn scholarships

Filter News

News Categories

Reset Filters

Spencer Educational Foundation announced its 2016 Spencer undergraduategraduate and pre-dissertation scholars. These 64 students, including four from Olivet College, represent 21 universities and are among the brightest students entering the risk management and insurance industry. The cumulative total awarded in merit-based scholarships to these students is $360,000, bringing the total amount awarded to students since 1979 to more than $5.9 million and the number of Spencer Scholars to 897.

Olivet College students who earned scholarships include: Hailey Goble, a sophomore from Alto; Madeline Maxwell, a sophomore from Flushing; Andrew Merfeld, a senior from Waldren; and Marki Wilber, a junior from Olivet.

“Because of the industry’s investment in the Foundation, this year we are able to help change even more lives through education,” said Brion Callori, Chairman of the Spencer Educational Foundation. “Our Class of 2016 is our largest one yet and we are extremely grateful to all of our supporters who enable us to fulfill our mission.”

In addition to 24 general undergraduate scholarships, the Foundation awarded 32 named undergraduate scholarships. All those scholarships are for $5,000. The named scholarships have been sponsored by: ACE Group, Allied World Assurance Corp., Arthur J. Gallagher & Co., FM Global, Liberty Mutual, Lockton Companies, RIMS Atlanta Chapter, RIMS Chicago Chapter, RIMS Dallas/Ft. Worth Chapter, RIMS New Jersey Chapter, RIMS New York Chapter, RIMS, St. John’s University and Zurich.

This year, the Foundation awarded five master’s level scholarships and three pre-dissertation scholarships. These are $10,000 scholarships. Eden Kedron of Cornell University received the Anita Benedetti Memorial Scholarship, given to the female master’s degree scholar with highest grade point average.

Facts about Spencer’s Class of 2016:

  • Average undergraduate GPA: 3.85 (minimum GPA for a scholarship is 3.0)
  • 39 undergraduates’ majors include Risk Management; 17 have actuarial science majors (includes double majors); 2 are double majoring in Spanish
  • Undergraduate minors include computer science/MIS, social justice theory, English, supply chain management, mathematics, creative writing and entrepreneurship
  • Seven undergraduates are receiving this honor for the second time
  • Distribution of scholarships to universities with three or more recipients
    • Olivet College
    • Temple University
    • St. John’s University
    • St. Joseph’s University
    • Indiana State University
    • University of Georgia
    • Appalachian State University
    • Butler University
    • Illinois State University
    • University of St. Thomas


Contact Admissions

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Media Relations

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Student Services

Your Name*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.